Fizzy Friday!

Alan had today off work, and we were invited to visit Gadget Kid and G at their lodge in Surrey.  We arrived about 11am and had a drink and biscuits whilst having a catch up, before heading out for a tour of the area, and what a pretty area it is too!

First of all we went to Shere which is famous for the movie 'The Holiday' with Cameron Diaz and Jude Law, part of which was filmed at the local pub, The White Horse.  Four Weddings and a Funeral and Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason were also filmed there.  It's such a quaint little village and has the most amazing public toilets!  Alan also spotted a Heron, from quite a distance away, so we went to find it, and it posed lovely for me (check out my extras).

From there we went to Gomshall and had lunch at Gomshall Mill, which was originally a medieval water mill situated on the River Tillingbourne. and while we were there, we decided we'd visit Denbies Vineyard.

The vineyard is the largest in the UK being 265 acres!  We had a look in the shop where I bought a bottle of fizz, and then we had a stroll through the vineyards.  I obviously can't take the credit for this photo, it's one taken by G, but she said it was fine for me to use it for my blip.  It's not often I have a photo of myself that I like, but I do like this one.

En-route back to the lodge, we stopped at Newlands Corner to take in the view of the Surrey hills, and we all had a Mr Whippy ice cream with a chocolate flake.  Once back at the lodge Sherry cracked open a bottle of Prosecco, and luckily for me, Alan was driving.

It's been a lovely relaxed day with friends that we've only met three times, but it feels like we've known them for ages, and it all started with our visit to Dubai in March.  I hope it's not too long before we see them again!

Unfortunately, Alan is starting with a cold and doesn't feel 100%, I've got a feeling he's got Rachel's bug!  Hopefully he'll shake it off as quickly as she did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.