Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Last silly photo, Archie. Honest.

Round the block, then the gym. My problem toe was being a problem, but I can always hobble to the gym and sit on the bike, so no excuses there.

When I came back from the gym, I suddenly decided to go into town and buy a new pair of Skechers, but to wear them only in the house until I was sure that my toe didn't complain. And it usually does with minutes of putting my other Skechers on.

And so I nipped in on the bus, popped in to the nearest shoe shop (where I got my previous Skechers), tried a couple of pairs on and bought a pair - all within minutes. I'm a fast shopper!

With a wee wait for the bus back, against my better judgement, I then popped in to a cafe to try their flat whites. Unfortunately, I spotted 'Belgian waffles, ice cream, bananas, cream and warm maple syrup' and I accidentally ordered it.

Well, it was immense, and I immediately regretted it, having just had my porridge. However, across the waffles was dribbled lots of chocolate, which wasn't on the menu. I didn't want chocolate. I asked for one without chocolate. It eventually arrived, sans chocolat, but the warm maple syrup had been stuck in the microwave again, and it was actually toffee. And the waffles were so dry without it. I was very quickly going off this breakfast, so I sent it back and asked for a flat white instead. It was not good. Half of it was in the saucer, and it was weak and tepid. I drank half, then paid and walked out - never to return. Phew. I felt better having avoided 3,000 calories or so, and really not worth it.

In the afternoon we took Archie over the Meadows for a last visit to George Square. We really like the Pad Thai, but all the street food outlets smelled wonderful. I should have tried their waffles!

Archie was quite a hit with many admirers. JR and he walked back home too, but my toe was still playing up - has been all day - so I took the bus.

I am now sitting with my new shoes on, but I will not be venturing out in them just yet. So far so good. Fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.