A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Happy Dog

Albi was beside herself with her 2nd new place for exploring in as many days. She celebrated by finding the only two wet and muddy ditches on Hampstead Heath and having a good old roll around. Joyously the pub we had booked into for lunch* was super dog friendly and the weather was so glorious we were eating in the garden anyway. Splendid BBQ that involved a slightly odd game of musical brioche buns, partly because they came pre-mayonnaised and partly because Anna overestimated the strength of strong English mustard. Somehow when the whistle went everyone was left with a set-up entirely of their choosing.

We have balanced the active start to the day with a full on afternoon of nothingness. For my contribution I have mainly sat in The Chair doing some comfort reading (Agatha Christie's The Body in the Library). The outing was a bit of a challenge for J so he has balanced it with an afternoon of relaxing with the keyboard. Carlos has mainly watched the cricket and Anna has alternated reading with cool showers to stop melting in the heat. And later still there was military rummy.

I am a big fan of the long, hot summer. It seems unimaginable that we will ever have cold weather again and I have no memory of the last time I wore a coat. I know I will like the jumpers and boots when the time comes but I'd be happy with another month of this.

Oh, and if we'd found the right spot this would have been a looking down on London view from the top of Hampstead Heath. But we are both very unfamiliar with it and there was mainly lots of wandering down paths in the vague hope of keeping to some sort of loop. So we saw some stuff from on high but it wasn't quite the iconic image I had in my head. Possibly next time I should do some research and plan a route. Or possibly I am thinking of Primrose Hill. Still, it was good to find another bit of London that was so huge and green and great for a dog outing. And a splendid pub. And no traffic - driving in London on Sundays and Bank Holidays is a positive joy.

Lesley x

*Spaniards Inn - highly recommended

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.