Wednesday: Bookish Booky

Today just whizzed by but it didn't present much in the way of blip opportunities.  So, instead, this is my entry for this month's community challenge.

I don't really have hobbies, as such, but I definitely have interests.  Lots of them.  I love travelling (unsurprisingly), particularly what K. and I call 'first-footing'. Discovering new places, be it countries, villages, nooks and crannies, coffee shops etc.

And I read.  As much as I possibly can and as soon as I finish one book, I start another.  I'm an eclectic, but not a spontaneous reader, by which I mean I have piles of books that I like to read in a particular order.  And I'm addicted to book lists.  Within that, I have some quirky interests:

- Books about books and reading;
- The Cambridge Spies, particularly Guy Burgess
- The 1950's, particularly the US in the 50's and, even more specifically, New York at that time;
- Diaries and letters
- Books about writers
- I do like fiction but prefer it to stand the test of time so don't read much that is less than 20 years old;
- China and the Russian Revolution
- LGBT history and biographies.  Anything about Radclyffe Hall and Una Troubridge is a hoot.  The pair was barking mad.

But the list is far from comprehensive.  As John Steinbeck put it: 'Thirteenth-century manuscripts and modern automobiles are separately but equally interesting to me'.  

But after watching an excellent documentary tonight about Emmanuel Macron and his campaign, I think I might have a little political crush on him too so let's add him to the above list!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.