The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Five A Day

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

Youngest Mini Princess’s decision to be vegetarian is proving a teensy weensy bit trying. In the last few days, I have tried out 3 new vegetarian recipes* with a zero percent success rate. The issues were surprisingly not with the ardent carnivores but with the fledgling vegetarian herself:

‘I don’t like beans’
‘I don’t like pulses’
‘Ugh Spinach. I only like raw spinach’
‘You know I don’t like sweet potatoes
‘ I REALLY don’t like aubergines’

And my particular favourite…

‘It’s not that I don’t like everything - just the food you make’

I explained that it’s not as simple as simply removing the meat from recipes as the meal wouldn’t have enough substance, flavour or nutrition. She pondered this for a moment. ‘Yes, you mean like ribs?’

I suspect ribless ribs would be a very disappointing meal.

C

*Smoky veg chilli recipe thanks to Lovely Tea Jenny & Veg Moussaka recipe thanks to O’H dear. Both were awesome (unless you happen to be the only vegetarian in the family).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.