The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

All That Jazz

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

The Eldest Mini Princess was performing at school in ‘MusicFest’, an informal ‘musical extravaganza for all ages featuring: bands, singer/songwriters and acoustic acts’.

The Eldest Mini Princess is the pianist in the school jazz band and they were great. They are student led and organise their music and pieces by themselves. I couldn’t organise my sock drawer at that age!

It was a brilliant evening. I love that times have changed from my school days and that music, art, drama, sport and other subjects which were considered ‘non academic’ are now recognised as being equally important as the traditionally academic subjects.

Music is linked with so many of my memories. It’s that moment, when I hear a song and it time travels me back to a point in my life, and for a second, I can feel the emotions of that moment and they seem so vivid.

Music bonds people: singing nursery rhymes to children, watching bands, dancing to eighties tunes at the end of a hilarious night in with friends or humming along together whilst cooking dinner. I have had loads of great chats with people about songs, bands and singers.

I have had none about Pythagoras’ theorem. I have never bonded over a hypotenuse*.

C

*I’m not sure why but that sounds rude!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.