Getting my Anglican on

A day spent in the company of locals today: much better! A tourist is a tourist but the experience is made so much better when you actually get to spend solid time with people from the area. We attended church today. It's quite funny being immersed in a proper Anglican trip. The churches in West Malaysia have strong links with the Diocese of Lichfield and so it's always a little bit embarrassing as somebody representing the Diocese to explain that I've never actually been there. I solemnly swear to visit when I'm back.

After the service I got to hang out and speak to the youth fellowship. It was ace and I hope I was able to encourage them. Their questions about England were as follows:
- Does the Queen really own all of the swans in England?
- Is your anthem still going to be 'God save the Queen' when the queen dies?
- Are Muslims allowed to own dogs in the U.K.?

After church we went for dinner with Rev. Joshua and his family and had a meander around the Sunday flea market. An afternoon of reading for me and then dinner with Abi and a quick tour of the twin towers by night.

I'm trying to be a really good representative of the Anglican Church, but there is a part of me that really wonders whether the non-Anglican churches here are able to worship in a more authentic way. I can't get over the feeling that it's a little bit of colonialism that needs to be shaken off. But don't tell anyone I said that.

It's been a heavenly day of food today. With such a vibrant mix of Indians, Chinese and Malay, it's kind of like a foodie's Mecca. For lunch I had a Malaysian Laska which was a big bowl of noodle soup bursting with sweet and salty flavours with lime and cucumber and pineapple. I did end up wearing the majority of it on my shirt though. This evening we had a feast of Indian breads: rotis, chapattis and dosa, all dipped in dahls and curries and dripping in greasy goodness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.