Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A lucky find!

I went to the gym this morning. To freeze my subscription, prior to cancelling it. For quite some time, I have wondered at the sense of this arrangement - paying a vast amount every month to sit on a bike every morning. One month's subscription and I could BUY a bike on GumTree. I've actually looked at several models, but stopped short of plunging in.

But what should JR find this morning on her round-the- block walk with Archie? A discarded, unwanted exercise bike sitting by the bin!!!!

I hurried round, fearing it had been snaffled already. But I was in luck, it was still there. It was a sturdy thing (ie bloody heavy) but I managed to stagger back home with it, stopping frequently to admire the views (not).

And it's great! The only problem is actually getting on to it. I can’t lift my leg over the middle bit, but with much effort, by standing on a pedal and flopping forward on the handlebars, I can actually swing (I use the word loosely) my leg right over the seat.

I stuck in some new batteries, so I can actually time myself and lots of other important information. With my iPad set up on the cupboard, I’m set. I did my half hour, with Archie sitting looking up at me (Extra 1) thinking I was mad. But this is going to be so much better. NO screeching muzak. NO sweaty men dripping on it. NO need to go out in the cold/rain. I could even do it twice, if I felt like it.

JR was in the mood for a 'deep clean' of the house. Time for Archie and I to skedaddle. We went to the new cafe she and Rufus and his mum discovered the other day. And it was great! Very quiet Classic FM on. Dog friendly - they gave him a treat. Good scones and coffee. I love finding new places. Also, it was handy for walking back through the Meadows, where Archie charged after sticks and played tug-of-war.

Then, away in the distance, I noticed a wee dog with a big bushy tail. It must be Rufus! I scanned the path, and 100 yards or so ahead of him, there was his mum. So we walked home with them and popped in for a cuppa.

I then got a text from JR asking me if I remembered that Ann and Mollie were coming in half an hour...

And so they did, but I was back in time. We had a lovely gin (or two) and caught up with Ann and her news, especially her amazing swimming. Mollie very kindly tidied up the floor when I dropped my melon and feta cheese on it (but she left the melon). Though Mollie was the epitome of good manners, Archie felt safer up on the sofa (Extra).

I shall still refer to it as 'going to the gym'. Sounds more energetic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.