Ipoh

Today has been long. A long but brilliant assault on the senses.

This morning Philip and I were at St. John's Church, which is led by Rev. Tom, who looks like a 70's Bollywood Star with massive hair and an even bigger personality. He invited me to speak to the youth after the service but because there weren't actually very many youth, it was actually the carolling team that I spoke to, after we had joined in the carolling practice.

I don't think I'll ever forget the experience of singing carols, led by a mulleted Indian vicar, in 37 degree heat. It was all kinds of awesome. 

From there, Philip and I visited another church and had the chance to speak to one of the first St. Chad's volunteers to come and spend the year in England (2001) and one of the newest recruits, who is all set to come over next year. It was good to be able to warn here about the food and the weather.

Later in the day we drove an hour out of the city, through a brilliant tropical rainstorm to visit some 'Orang-asli' communities (the indigenous people of Malaysia). We met a group who were meeting in a small church and then onto a group meeting in a home. Hanging out with kids who don't share any language with you means that you have to rely on the language of the 'smile' and I loved every second of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.