Five things

By fivethings

Just add oil

1. Up very early to dig out my bike. I haven't seen my bike, never mind ridden it, in 10 months. I am told it will no doubt need a bit of oil on the chain. All I have is olive oil, but it'll do, I reckon. I'm ready and never mind comfort zone, this is more like danger zone as I hit the roads.

2. I'm at my first park run this morning and as I arrive to hear the intro for new runners, I learn that this is the 8th anniversary of the first ever park run which started with seven folk in London. This morning there's a few hundred people and the sun is shining. As we get going I am stunned by just how beautiful this park is. I'm really happy to do be doing this. At the end I meet Diane, Andy and Molly and Neil. I feel right chuffed. Not as chuffed as I do later, when the email pops in to tell me how I got on. Sixth in my age range. I think that's ok. The smile value of that email is really, really high.

3. The new Queens Park arena opens today. It's really cool and I catch a few turns in the autum sunshine.

4. I have decided to tackle cooking. I probably can cook ok, but my confidence is just rock bottom. Today I decide to pick up the Guardian on the way into the supermarket and cook whatever is in the recipe section of the magazine. What I find makes me burst out laughing. Hugh Fearnley Whumpenpuff's first recipe requires 'two rabbits, jointed', the second involves '8 rear rabbit legs (preferably from a young animal)'. Ha. Considering I am in Asda Toryglen, I have to turn the page. Luckily there is another, less mental, more realistic recipe.

5. It works out well. Very, very well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.