Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Reasons to be cheerful

I love Ian Dury. How can you not like a man who writes lines like these:

Seeing Piccadilly, Fanny Smith and Willy
Being rather silly, and porridge oats
A bit of grin and bear it, a bit of come and share it
The juice of the carrot, the smile of the parrot
A little drop of claret - anything that rocks
Health service glasses
Gigolos and brasses
round or skinny bottoms
Harpo, Groucho, Chico
Cheddar cheese and pickle, the Vincent motorsickle
Slap and tickle
Woody Allen, Dali, Dimitri and Pasquale
Something nice to study, phoning up a buddy
Being in my nuddy


Top Gun is cheerful after three days in his new job. The Dizzle is just cheerful at the moment. TSM and I are cheerful when we're together, which we were for lunch today. Actually she had lunch with me and supper with the Dizzle, two Italian meals in one day. That really is a reason to be cheerful.

The other song that is going 'round in my head tonight is from Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers in "Swing Time"

Nothing's impossible, I have found.
For when my chin is on the ground,
I pick myself up, dust myself off,
Start all over again.

Don't lose your confidence if you slip.
Be grateful for a pleasant trip,
And pick yourself up; dust yourself off;
Start all over again.


Which probably makes Fred and Ginger early Neuro Linguistic Programmers, as well as fantastic dancers ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.