Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Scone!

Thank goodness the icy pavements have disappeared!

Another torture session at the gym. I just about killed myself, and could not have done one minute more, and the machine announced that I’d generated enough energy to power a light bulb for 11 minutes. Big Deal.

When I came home I watched the Djokovic/Chung game. Brilliant tennis and the young Korean won in three sets. Also, I’d been watching live tennis at midnight, unable to sleep.

JR had some bureaucracy to attend to, and she's been 'attending to it' for some days, so Archie and I left her to it and went for a dander across the Links. I had an ulterior motive, and it wasn’t a scone, though I did manage one as well. No, I wanted to pop back to the computer shop to ask about selling my computer. I know I won’t use it much, as I can do (almost) everything on my iPad and don’t need it at all. Yes, they'd buy it off me, but suggested I’d be better selling privately.

As luck would have it, we spotted Rufus and his mum away across the Links. Archie ran to Christine and wiped his muddy feet on her coat. Thanks, Arch.

We decided to pop for a coffee, and perchance, a scone. It was busy as usual, and we were rather crushed in. I turned round to spot Rufus a few tables away (he has an extendable lead) with his head in a handbag that had been carelessly left open on the floor. Cheeky boy!

We've decided on a suitable Big Walk for JR in this her significant year. She has considered (some of them extremely briefly) and ruled out: The West Highland Way, Ben Nevis, Milford Track (NZ), Camino de Santiago, South Downs, Southern Upland Way. Exciting!

The crispy ground has been great these last few days, but now the grass is just squidgy mud. Here's Archie having his inevitable shower. Though he doesn’t usually wear a shower cap. Sorry, Arch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.