Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

NO Big Steps

The women's semi final this morning was NOT a let down. What a fantastic match. And not too much screeching, either.

After that I went to the gym. I don’t even consider skipping it for day. How impressive is that! Though I just could not manage the Big Steps today. Absolutely impossible. Strange that the other day I could do 10 minutes with only one wee stop in the middle. Why?

Elizabeth came to collect Archie for the day, so we had a wee outing. It was sunny, but blustery. We don’t like bluster. So we went to the (indoors) Muriel Spark exhibition at the National Library. What an illustrious career she had. She was prolific. There was a fantastically photogenic wall with all the covers of her many novels. I wanted to take a photo, but there was a 'No Photos' sign. I know some people who would have gone ahead and taken one, but I’m fairly law abiding.

There was to be no wandering round town today because of the unpleasant blustery conditions, so we just got the bus back home. I think this must be the first time ever, where we've gone into town and come back without indulging in some light refreshment. We're on a diet. I really really need to lose weight. Lots of it, which will help with my poor weak knees. I'm doing quite well so far (Day Three)...

Back home, lit the fire, and relaxed until Arch and Elizabeth came back from their loooong walk. That dog has such a good life. I hope he realises this. (Photo by Elizabeth).

My knees are feeling, possibly, almost, everso slightly stronger of late. Or am I imagining it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.