The problem with Twitter...

... is that those pub bores whom everyone does their very best to avoid have finally found a platform that seems to give them some kind of equivalence to everyone else. Needy little brats like Paul Watson and Hopkins invade people's timelines not through admiring retweets but because people highlight how despicable they are. Unfortunately, it means I still see them. 

So, on a day like today - International Women's Day - I am torn; do I go onto Twitter and enjoy the celebration? Or stay off, and thereby avoid all the morons asking when it's International Men's Day?

Happily, my brother revealed to me today that Richard Herring takes a less cowardly approach and engages with these idiots head on, retweets them, pointing out that it's on November 19th. And, periodically, directs people to his Just Giving page, raising money to combat domestic violence*. This cheered me enormously.

And it seemed to complete my day when, walking along Gower Street, I saw this blue plaque, commemorating Dame Millicent Garrett Fawcett.

*Update: by the following week, he'd raised £150k!

****
No scales
0 words
Reading: 'Lincoln In The Bardo'. It's not a page turner, tbh. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.