LadyPride

By LadyPride

Home Alone

I was home alone today as Audrey and my husband were off visiting relatives.

It was raining outside so I took the opportunity to have a good clear out. I'd originally meant to tidy my office but by the time I'd been out, bought food, done some washing and cleaned up the nursery and our wardrobes, there was no time left to do the office. Felt good though. We've been disappearing under a mound of clutter ever since Audrey was born and I love being ruthless and having a good chuck out.

Saw this bit of graffiti on my way to the shops in Chorlton. It's a picture of a hero of mine, Quentin Crisp (gay rights campaigner and writer) who sadly died here in Chorlton back in 1999, when he was visiting a friend on the eve of a one-man show in Manchester. Quentin had moved to the States years before and was quite the toast of the arts scene in New York we're led to believe.

He was cremated at Southern Cemetery up the road and has his ashes flown back to the Big Apple such was his love of the place.

John Hurt played Quentin Crisp in a brilliant movie made about his life a few years back called An Englishman in New York (as in the Sting song). I bought it on DVD. Which reminds me, I must dig it out this week and watch it - if Audrey time allows!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.