LadyPride

By LadyPride

Curtains

I have a confession to make.
I know it's wrong and I shouldn't do it.
I wouldn't like it if people did it to me.
But in the winter, when the dark falls quickly and almost without warning, late in the afternoon. And people are caught unaware. Thereby leaving their curtains open. I love to look in as I walk past.

You see such brilliant snapshots of people's lives. And people fascinate me.

Tonight I took the pram out after a day in the office, my Dad handing over the Audrey baton as he left.

Chorlton's windows didn't disappoint. Lots of lovely family scenes to behold. Kids on play-stations or jumping around in living rooms, Mums with feet up, sipping cups of tea in front of huge widescreen TVs watching Deal or No Deal a plenty, a few homeworkers still mesmerised by the blue glow of their laptop and perhaps my favourite - a gang of girls doing each other's hair with rollers, hairspray and dressing gowns on. Britain. A portrait of.

Bet you close your curtains after you read this! And I must take this opportunity to apologise to my neighbourhood for my behaviour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.