Wildside

I was determined to go out today as planned - kind of like getting back on the horse after you've fallen. I wanted to see Keith Wiley's garden - Wildside. He was the head gardener at The Garden House for 25 years then moved to start his own garden and explore what he calls "new naturalism". I'd been there a couple of years ago but he only opened the garden for a few days and after that not at all until now, when he is open for a few days in April, May, June and July. The garden is still being developed and there are tastes of new areas to come.
His garden features canyons and water and great expanses with plants grown in a mass - and the place does have the feeling of another country and is based on his travels to South Africa and Crete. Well the  intense heat at present certainly added to that feeling! I must admit to not lingering long! I did buy a Lychnis whose shocking pink was all over the garden, and two hepaticas, as mine had died. There is an interesting article here about the place and him, and a small album here.
Oh joy in the evening - neighbours with dog had bought a new ball - a squeaky ball! Maybe they heard my mutter under my breath! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.