Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

No weel

This is a back blip. Didn’t manage to blip yesterday as I was struck down with a mystery 24hour bug. Well, I hope it's 24hour. I'm still feeling a bit woozy as I write this...

I was enjoying my fresh fruit and yoghurt breakfast, as usual, when I began to not enjoy it. In fact, I began to feel nauseous. I was sick, and felt slightly better after that, though not exactly skipping around.

A new prospective walker came to meet Archie, and we had a good chat. We heard her fascinating life story so far, including going to New Zealand four times. We do love meeting young folk and hearing what they're all up to. She's very busy studying, and being a surgeon, and has been invited to give a talk at a conference in Nashville. AND she's got a rusty old combi van that she takes off in. Not sure how often she'll be able to see Archie...

In the afternoon, I was going to go up the hill with Archie and JR, but my nausea came all over me again, so I stayed home and went to bed. In fact, I was so cold, I had two dressing gowns, a woolly hat and a hot water bottle and still shivered. Jings!

However, I had a peaceful night, though I didn’t sleep much. I was comfortable and didn’t have to keep moving all the time, as I usually have to.

But the BEST thing that happened, and cheered me up enormously, was that I got a phone call from the hospital to arrange a follow up meeting with my surgeon. I've been so anxious to get this organised and maybe find out what's wrong. She told me the bad news that the surgeon's going on holiday till the middle of August... 'Nooooo! I’ve been waiting ages!' I suppose all patients say that, but surgeons do have to go on holiday.

Anyway, my quivering, pleading voice worked - she's fitted me in next week. Perhaps somebody will be able to tell me why my knees are still sore two years on.

Archie loves just standing for ages in the river. Photo by JR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.