Big City

Into Plymouth today so The Exile could buy a computer which as well as allowing her to FaceTime her sons, browse the Internet and receive emails, she will also use for letters of application and hopefully some tuition work. Unfortunately her card was declined and she had to leave empty handed! But they will hold the laptop for 24 hours whilst she sorts out the problem. As we were in one of those retail parks, we popped into Homebase and I got trays into which I can  sort all the bits and pieces that currently fall out of the under sink sink cupboard whenever I have to retrieve something from there! I also bought some paint to do my small toilet upstairs. I painted it over 20 years ago and have never liked the colour!  The exile said she would paint it for me as payment for putting her up!
Next stop The British heart Foundation furniture shop, The exile is looking for a comfy sofa for her and her dog! Well she didn't find one but did find a pine wardrobe she liked, and I found a chest of drawers I loved! It's one of those distressed types - 10  different sized and coloured drawers and handles!  I have often admired them in magazines and brochures but could never justify the price - but this was the right price! I had no idea where I was going to put it, but I'm not one to let a little thing like that stop me! We had to get the car and drive round the back and this is the view we saw and which rather appealed to me! For a country living girl this is rather a novel sight and appealing in an odd way! I also liked the red rubbish bin and the old Cinema which is now abandoned and in serious disrepair. 
The exile decided she would get the wardrobe along with her computer the next day, so we finally headed home. She was highly excited on the way by the sight of the Ivor Dewdneys Pasty shop which she said sold the best pasties! So we stopped in the hope it was open, it was but sadly they had sold out of cheese and onion pasties which she claimed were the best but we shared a vegetable pasty instead and it was rather good! 
Once home we decided the chest of drawers would go nicely in my front room - cue the moving of the wooden chest, the coffee table, the rug and Gunther! I'm very happy with how the room now looks and had great fun filling most of the drawers! The Exile went for a walk in the woods with The Writer, whose first book is near publication! She just has to do some rewrites as one of the characters was felt to be an example of cultural appropriation by her publisher!
Not a bad day for a relaxing Sunday! Was good to go and do the hens bedtime after a day in the city!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.