Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

After the Meeting

All faculty were invited to attend the Student Success Committee's meeting this afternoon to discuss the volley of emails that circulated approximately six-weeks ago regarding the poor performance of many of the current students. So I went to the meeting even though I had not participated in the emails.

I think only 5 or 6 faculty were present, but the discussion was good. I expressed that my students are not ill-prepared -- they know how to read and they certainly have the ability to learn to write academic essays -- what they don't have is the "want to". Without desire all the potential in the world is useless.

As I walked toward my car, I paused for a brief moment to marvel at the show in he sky. It was just beautiful.

Then on the way home I made the mistake of stopping at the grocery store and after doing a quick trip through the aisles, I paid for my stuff and walked outside to realize I had just missed a spectacular, I mean REALLY spectacular, sunset. I stood there watching the colors fade just shaking my head. Shucks!

I thought to myself, "There's a lesson in this moment and some choices for next time: 1) skip the store; 2) let Mr. Fun do the shopping; 3) leave the campus earlier; 4) all of the above!"

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.