The First of December

I really, really love Christmas. I love how it sort of sneaks up on you, I love buying presents, I love the long holidays, lazing around with the children, spending days on end together, playing with their new things and hanging out and doing nothing. I love the decorations, the songs, our old traditions and the new ones we seem to add every year. I love it!

Betsy and I went shopping together today. We got up early and got the bus to Kingston because she needs a new winter coat, and also because in a moment of weakness I promised her a new school bag, though God knows that girl does not need another bag!

Here she can be seen with both, in Betsy heaven - Waterstones. I bought her a couple of new books including a children's re-telling of Shakespeare stories. She saw an Orange Tree production of The Tempest at school this week and really loved it and was really interested in reading more of the stories. We read Twelfth Night together today - I remember loving that story so much when I was about her age. I have always loved stories about twins (because my father was a twin), and mistaken identity. I always thought Antonio the ex-pirate was the real hero though and had a bit of a crush on him, not soppy old Orsino.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.