Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A flurry of activity

I had a flurry of activity this morning, decanting the remaining removal boxes, fifteen of them. Full of shoes, folders, books, pillows, cushions, curtains and other stuff. I have not yet found my back scratcher, SD cards or indeed, my camera manual. There are some other boxes that don’t need to be emptied yet - they must be there. In one marked ‘Assorted But Vital’.

The removal company were great- they don’t hassle you for the return of their boxes, which is perhaps not such a good thing, because there is no urgency. But there is a bit of urgency now. I need to use the shed in the front ‘garden’ to store firewood. I’ve realised that 20 tiddly bags of assorted hard and soft wood, though it looks a lot, will not last a winter! I need to order by the trailer load, so need a front storage area, which I have.

When I lived in the country in NZ, I did all the firewood - a pretty wee yellow chainsaw was the first thing I bought at my first A&P Show. In fact, it sat on the mantelpiece for a while, it was so cute. I’ve been toying with the notion of getting one again and going out scavenging, but I think I’m a bit past it now. Besides, J told me you need to wear all the ‘elf’n’safety gear now. And I’d need a trailer.

But once the shed is emptied of the flat boxes this weekend, I can order a decent amount. The fire has been our only source of heating - the central heating isn’t working - some of the radiators just go off, while others keep going. And setting a programme requires more brain matter than I have at my disposal, although I’ve tried again this evening. I’m waiting to change over suppliers and then get them out for a boiler check. Can’t be much longer.

And so I feel quite accomplished. The spare room is now clear of boxes. It does have rather a lot of rubbish bags full of rubbish stuff instead. I found so many cleaning things, I could start a (partially used) cleaning stuff shop. Many types of window cleaning sprays, carpet detergents, screen washes, car scratch repairer, stainless steel cleaner, white spirit and Miracle Gro. Why do we have all that stuff?

After my exertions, I had a wander into town and watched the ice skating for ages. I was fiddling about with settings, trying to get an action shot with blurry background. I wanted someone in the classic ‘skater’ pose, but most people weren’t doing anything like that, they were concentrating on staying upright. This lad was quite good. Unlike the person behind him... It looked quite stressful for parents and kids, actually. But the staff were there quickly if anyone fell.

I love watching ice skating, thankful that I’m on dry land.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.