Christmas!

You know when you plan for a good day and then your day does actually turn out that way? It seems a rare occurrence for me - not that I'm complaining, I just have a lot of variables in my life - but today was everything I hoped it would be. 

I had bacon rolls, coffee, and present opening with the Minx and miniMinx, this morning, which was lovely, and then I headed up to Kirkby Lonsdale and got out to do my favourite half-marathon, running a circular route with the bridge over Barbon Beck at its tip. 

Then I was back with enough time to shower and start getting food ready for the girls, who arrived in two cars: firstly Charlie, Hannah, and Milly, and then Izzy and her boyfriend, Will, whom I hadn't met before but who seems like a lovely guy. We had their favourite lunch from when they were young - "sandwiches and crisps" - although these days that is augmented with all sorts of quiches, pork pies, pâté, and smoked salmon. 

In the afternoon, Charlie and I prepared the Christmas dinner, which was far more hard work by her as I only had responsibility for the turkey. 

Dan and Abi turned up at about 4pm and that was lovely. As I've said before, on occasions like this I get a huge amount of pleasure from just sitting back and watching all my children getting on together. And then it was Christmas dinner, which was fantastic, and Christmas presents. I love seeing all the things the kids have got for each other; they're so thoughtful. 

It would have been a 10/10 Christmas had the Minx and miniMinx been there, this evening, but, allowing that caveat, it was pretty much perfect.

****
-11.6 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook' by Michael Brooks

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.