Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Who needs a haircut...

Bike ✔️

Jordan's day. Archie’s up at the window waiting, but never recognises Jordan if he's on his bike and wearing a helmet. But when he does realise who it is - he goes crazy, skidding down the path to crash into Jordan's legs, yelping and crying all the way.

They went up Arthur's Seat. The hard way. Straight up the steep bit. The crows at the top are very precocious. They drove Archie mad!

While they were away, Rufus came to stay with us for the morning. And he didn’t cry even once! Jordan was delighted to find him here when he came back, as he's a big fan. Archie less so...

In the afternoon JR went off to the supermarket and so Archie and I watched TV. I returned to 'The Outlaw King' on Netflix, about Robert the Bruce. I gave up before, as there was too much blood and gore and mud. This time, I got about ten minutes in, and there was even more blood and gore and someone being 'hung, drawn and quartered'. TOO graphic! OFF!

In fact, there is SO much graphic violence on television. I've only seen the trailers of 'Luther', but they look just AWFUL. Graphic violence is not 'entertainment'. I think they're just showing off their 'special effects'. I mean, I KNOW they didn’t really slash a horse's stomach open to kill the rider. But it looked pretty realistic before I shut my eyes...

So I looked for something less gruesome. Tried 'Catastrophe', which gets good reviews and seemed harmless enough, but the wobbly hand-held camera work is unwatchable. I tried 'Grace and Frankie' - supposedly a 'comedy' but just stupid. Then at last! A favourite. Something watchable - not silly, or gruesome, with steady camerawork - 'Money for Nothing', where they save stuff from being dumped and upcycle it. Good clean fun.

Having complained about graphic violence, I am sort of 'enjoying' Ozark, which is darkly awful (or awfully dark), plenty of killings, but with enough sympathetic characters to care about, and a twist-filled plot line.

I started taking Christmas decorations down today, but JR insisted on one more night...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.