Toad nearly out of the hole

Last night, I asked the kids what they'd fancy for dinner, this evening, and Dan asked if they could have toad in the hole. It's a while since I've made it, actually, maybe not since we were in the cottage, but I said yes and during the day, today, I found a recipe.

It was more straightforward than I remembered. Easy, in fact: I should do it more often. 

But I got quite a shock when I opened the oven to take it out. For a moment it was like being in a horror movie or a science fiction flick; it looked as though it had come to life!

It was, however, delicious.

PS I think this may have been down to me using self-raising flour instead of simply delving a bit further back into the cupboard for the plain.

****
-11.7 kgs
Reading: 'Middle England' by Jonathan Coe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.