Unexpected

I went much further and longer than I thought to on my early morning walk with Oscar - it was just supposed to be a quick toilet run! I spotted the river was really high so carried on down into the village. There is only 1 swan visiting at the moment - I don't know where it's mate has gone or whether this is one of the offfspring from last year. I decided to walk to the boatyard, and once there it seemed silly to walk back so continued on to the turning up into the woods and through them back home. I bumped into The Weaver and The Artist again! They were trying to walk off the effects of a late night - he looked perkier than she did! I only met one other couple in the woods so it was a lovely peaceful walk, just the sound of a woodpecker in the Cotehele woods disturbing the peace!
Come the eve it was time to see if the new hens would go in the coop with the others....nope! So I picked them up one by one and put them in the run to the coop, then joined  them and lifted them one by one into the coop. There was much shuffling around inside and I was able to get myself out and round to close the door before they decided to jump out! They soon settled down. There were even more feathers this evening and I think three of them are moulting - explains why only one brown egg is being laid! I messaged the morning opener to say would be a good idea tom let them ut asap incase the older hens had a go at the newbies! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.