Lune Rising

I've noticed, reading back over my blips, how much I focus on direction - north, east, south, west - when describing journeys. Before moving to the Lake District in 1990, I don't think I ever really thought in those terms.

Equally, I don't think that natural features figured much in my life, certainly while I lived in London and Liverpool. Maybe that's because everything was built over: the natural world was a phenomenon that broke through my day to day environment of tarmac and paving stones. 

These days, two rivers feature largely in my life: the Kent, which runs next to our office, and the Lune, from whose western bank Kirkby Lonsdale rises, spreading up the hillside. 

Quite apart from simply being, well, rivers, one aspect that these two natural features  have in common is that they both rise very quickly after rainfall. This morning, the path on the far side of the Kent from the office was completely submerged: you can just make out the top of the railing in my extra photo. 

Later, I had coffee with a client in Sedbergh and then popped home before going back to the office. I crossed the Lune on the narrow bridge on the A683 - just wide enough for one car - and, as it was quiet, stopped halfway across to take this photo.

****
-10.5 kgs
Reading: 'Jog On' by Bella Mackie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.