The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Happy Scottish Birthday!

Dear O'H dear,

It was Jenny’s birthday today so we all had cake for breakfast which is how all birthdays should start.

It was a gorgeous day so Jenny and I took Murphy to Yellowcraigs as I wanted to show her my favourite beach and we ended up walking to North Berwick!

It was a perfect Scottish day to be on the beach. Cool and sunny but not too windy. One of my favourite places to be with one of my favourite people. On her birthday! I “may” have been in slightly manic mode in the anticipation, preparation and excitement of Jenny’s visit. The sound of water* calms my head and lets it go quiet. I love the noise of the waves crashing against the rocks and the spray coming over the top, or rolling gently and rhythmically onto shore. It gives me a sense of peace.

In the evening, The Eldest Mini Princess was playing cello in a Resonate concert at the Queen’s Hall. It was a strings concert performed by Edinburgh school pupils and my trepidation that I would have to listen to screechy violins for 2 hours was quickly laid to rest as it sounded fantastic. I feel so proud of EMP and so lucky that Edinburgh still provide free music tuition in schools. I’m not sure that she would have ever picked up a cello if that hadn’t been the case.

C

PS Jenny took the extras

*No, the toilet flushing doesn’t count

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.