Grimsthorpe Castle

Absolutely amazing ride at Grimsthorpe Castle today with Maria and Nicola and the best long gallop up a hill!! Ollie, Maria's horse was on one today so we had to try and keep it calm. Buddy was also full of it but was better once we didn't have anyone in front of us as we did the 15 mile loop and most people peeled off to do 8 or 12.

Had the most incredible cake half way round (cake by the lake) - the lightest sponge with a lemon cream topping with Raspberries. Oh my goodness!! Not terribly easy to eat on horseback but no way I was going to drop it!

Has been a long day as I got to the yard for 7.30 to have time to muck out Jack, load up the horsebox and get Buddy ready. It was over an hour drive, so all in I didn't make it back to the yard till 4.30pm. Then had Jack to sort again, lime to feed and Buddy to sort as well as unloading the horsebox. All I wanted to do was go home but had to go to quorn to walk a dog. The owner is on hols leaving the dog with her elderly mum so I couldn't let her down! But really was the last thing I felt like doing.

When I got home I made a huge cup of tea and promptly fell asleep on the sofa! Luckily Mike sorted dinner. He took Eva down to ride today as Jack really needs the exercise. I briefed Sharon so she could help him tack up but he did really well. Jack looking good so I'm hopeful we've warded off laminitis for now. Need to be very careful though cos his pen is just green shoots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.