Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie and the sunflower...

I gave Archie a quick haircut this morning. But I couldn’t be bothered going on the bike. Instead, I tucked into two breakfasts - my usual porridge and blueberries, then the ricotta pancakes and strawberries that Christine brought yesterday. Yum yum. I am still working up to starting a seriously proper diet.

JR went off into town for lunch with pals. She's been flat out cooking and baking for days, so she deserved a wee treat. I stayed at home because Rufus was visiting us while his mum went off for afternoon tea somewhere posh.

The dogs and I watched the tennis. And I discovered I could get women’s cricket. I do like ODIs, I used to watch them a lot in NZ. I watched the England/West Indies game. And I’m looking forward to the women’s football tonight - England vs Scotland. It's great that women's sport is being recognised. It's every bit as watchable as the men's game, and often better!

But we also went up the hill. Archie just sits opposite me and stares all morning until he's had his walk. Rufus did pretty well, though we didn’t go right up. He's a feisty wee chap - he saw off two big black labs who came too close. The black labs' owner asked what kind of dog he was, and noted that he looked like a sunflower. Which he does.

EDIT: No diving. No arguing with the ref. No spitting. Excellent ball skills. Great game!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.