Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Hello Isobel!

The day started cloudy and cool, but soon warmed up. Archie and I sat in the front garden all morning, just moving the bench as we lost the sun. I was reading my new book on my Kindle. I'm really enjoying it (thanks for the tip, Nicky).

In the afternoon Jordan and Sarah popped round with wee Isobel, and we sat out in the sun in the back garden until the builders at the flat in the next garden came out and started to drill into the wall. Besides, it was a bit too sunny for Isobel. She's putting on weight, and is now looking around, smiling and laughing. Archie had a good look at her, but was more interested in playing football. They all went off for a cool walk in the Hermitage.

JR and I set off to try out Victor Hugo - haven't been for ages, but I wasn’t feeling as sprightly as yesterday, so I was more than delighted when it was suggested we just pop into the Red Box, only a block away. Another soya milk flat white (30p extra... I seem to have got used to the astronomical cost quite quickly) and a small bit of a flapjack.

While there, I got an email notice that my Amazon delivery was due imminently, though still time for our coffee. But when we left, an email arrived saying they'd missed us, they'd be back on Monday. Drat. I knew what it was, and I was looking forward to getting my hands on it. But as we walked home, the delivery van drove by, and stopped down the road a bit. JR ran back with the delivery email as proof, and yes, we got it! It's a foolproof wee do-dacky to soft-poach eggs to perfection every time. I do love a poached egg, but it's too hit-and-miss to bother. Looking forward to perfecting my poaching technique.

More football tonight. JR is getting a lot of her book read.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.