A Long Time Ago In Point Piper

My friend just posted this on FB...it brought back so many memories of a wonderful time in my life. Jaiya was about 10 and we had a most wonderful little cottage in Point Piper.....perhaps the most expensive suburb in Sydney...but we had the cheapest rent because I did the gardening  (I got married in that garden). Underneath the garage lived another dear friend and downstairs of the main house lived several others ..we were all close and had a most fabulous little community.....even the landlady and lord would come down for a tipple now and then.....Red wine in those days.

Funny I spent the day with Ma and Pa and went for a trip down memory land with them when Mum decided to start throwing away all the cards she has kept over the years from us kids...after we read them all she packed them back up into the plastic container and not one found the bin.

I decided that we were all old enough for me to tell them of some of the mischief that I had gotten up to...stuff I had never told them before..it was rather well received.....well like I said I think we are past it all now....what can they do anyway...ground me...smack my bum... lectures I still get....sigh!..but the best thing is that I can still run faster than them and I can go home.
Jokes aside one thing that was abundantly clear from the cards and postcards that went to and fro from different parts of the world is the love that our family have for each other...well nearly anyway...I don't like my middle brother very much...he can be really mean.

Look at that huge fag...I did so love to smoke once.

“What matters in life is not what happens to you but what you remember and how you remember it.”
Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.