Panzano

Mr C and I had a day out. We drove through Greve to Panzano, a greatly pretty small town, happily free of tourists, apart from us. He took this picture before we had a look in the church.

Then we drove over the hilly, wooded countryside, with its many vineyards and olive groves, to Castellina in Chianti. It was a bit bigger and even had a scary torre demanding to be climbed up. We got a great view from the top. After visiting another church and a small museum devoted to Etruscan art, we had a delicious lunch. I had carpaccio of marinaded Chiantini beef with a tasty pecorino and pear fondu with honeyed walnuts. The wine I choose tasted like the smell of wet nappies, so just as well it was a small glass. Then I had a couple of fried zucchini flowers stuffed with ricotta.

We got back in time to see the children doing their various pool games. They are now perfecting some synchronised swimming.

James asked if I’d seen any bloodied strung up Jesuses.

I don’t think anyone is feeling like dinner so I’m off for a G and T.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.