The rest of forever...

By DrMac

New Shoes

It was lovely to wake under a heavy duvet, see a cup of steaming tea on the floor next to me and have no good reason to get out from our bed. Needless to say, we were still up early but it seemed much more leisurely than normal. A lazy breakfast was followed by a lot of back blipping...check out yesterday's blip to see the links to all the blips from when we were away. I love the photos on the 25th here! and the 28th - here - very happy memories.

After a lot of blipping, delayed by slow internet connection, we went out for a couple of hours and walked in the valley. Home for me to do my training session, then after a shower we had a late lunch of yoghurt and fruit on the rooftop and I drank lots of tea. I made my seat reservations for my two flights, packed my suitcase and finished a presentation I have to give at work on Monday. Paul cut his hair with the clippers I bought him for Christmas - a few bald patches emerged in random places!

Time for a shower, to get dressed and then a walk to to our favourite restaurant for a celebratory Christmas / New Year / end of trek and holiday meal. Wonderful. Everest beer, chicken thighs, Basa fish, chocolate mousse, strawberry cheesecake, a bottle of red wine and gorgeous coffees. We sat by a roaring fire - literally, a bunch of logs setting the world on fire! - a bit of a health hazard but a warming delight to add to a perfect evening. And I wore my new shoes - it's just a shame I've knackered my achilles - a trip to the physio is booked for next Monday - as soon as I get home!

Now we are at the apartment - gin and tonic, relaxing with lots of clothes on as the house is always so cold (no heating here!) - ready for an early night and the start of my final day in Kathmandu. Going home is never easy when I'm going on my own...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.