Tuesday: Little Blue

My sleep pattern is completely shot these days - I’ve discovered in the last few years that stress can do that to me. I have no problem falling asleep but then wake up around 2 or 3am, unable to get back to sleep. I do have something from the doctor that helps but I don’t like to take it too often - still I might relent tonight just so I can get a good night’s sleep.

I worked from home this afternoon but wasn’t terribly productive on account of being tired. If I tell you that I spent far too long obsessing over Patti Smith’s Instagram account that may give you a sense of my output. I should really have been reading up on the use of hydrogen in the UK’s energy space, in preparation for a meeting tomorrow. Oops.

Somehow Patti’s shots of coffee and notebooks look so much more artistic than mine.

I bought this cup, and five companions, from a roadside market in South Africa when I was there on my first overseas posting in 1991. They’re still going strong. They’re a perfect size too - K. and I call it having a ‘little blue’ so that the other knows not to make a massive mug of something.

I think it’s time to read ‘M Train’ again....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.