LadyPride

By LadyPride

Bourne Again

Had the morning to myself so headed to the Trafford Centre for a baby cupboard restock (I seriously need shares in Boots these days - the irony is I used to have some as I worked at their head office many years ago.) I even managed a few shops for me at high speed (new shoes and a few tops - oops, must try harder at being thrifty!) Grabbed some take out sushi before heading home to relieve my husband.

Audrey slept through last night so we were both in good spirits. We took her for her paediatrician's appointment in the afternoon concerning her reflux. He confirmed what we had already guessed. Audrey's reflux symptoms are reappearing as she is bigger and the dose needs adjusting. He's a really nice guy and seems to know his stuff. He told us to only reduce her dose after each month when her symptoms improve and to then ease her off it slowly - not the cold turkey approach I keep trying (and failing at). To manage our expectations, he told us to possibly expect her to be on it for up to a year. And he reassured me that it is doing her no harm at all and that as it improves her disposition, this in turn helps with her development. An unhappy baby finds it harder to learn new things I guess.

We waited forever to be seen at the hospital which meant that it was a mad race through the dimly lit back streets of Manchester to get my husband to the station in time for his train to London tonight. At one point as we bumped along a cobbled street and under some railway arches, a freight train was rumbling on the bridge above us and it all felt very Jason Bourne. In my head anyway!

Just me and Audrey again now. The house smells of her lavender bubble bath and drying baby grows. My favourite nighttime smell...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.