Houseonahill6

By Houseonahill6

Last moments on Orkney

Backblip
I wanted to make the most of our last few hours on Orkney so again I was up and out early and it was definitely worth it.Another lovely sunrise with just me , the geese and the Hares. I had stopped at the bottom of the path watching the Hares running about in the field when I noticed one heading towards me so I froze and just waited as it came nearer and nearer .It had not noticed me at all and came within inches so I managed to get a few shots before it retreated back up the path, a great experience :)
Back to the Mill to load the car and start our journey to the Ferry.Enough time for a beach walk where we were watched by noisy cows ;)
On to St Margaret’s Hope where we wandered through the Community Garden and down to the Craft Shop.We bought a bag and a piece of carved glass with standing stones.
Just enough time to grab a bacon and egg roll from the Bistro and then join the queue.We were soon on board and seeing as it was such a nice day sat on the top deck. Glad I had layers on and a hat as it was sooo windy and choppy. I could not move from my seat as it was so rocky ! People looked drunk as the staggered about holding on to the rails as they tried to get to the end of the boat.
Safely on land we went to the cafe and had soup before setting off on the NC500 again,We stopped at the Castle of Mey and enjoyed a walk round the garden . There were lots of Red Admirals feeding on one of the plants. We found one of the Highland squirrel sculptures and looked at the animals.I liked the little goats most of all :)
A stunning drive through the mountains to Scourie Lodge where we were staying the night.A tasty meal in the restaurant , loved the decor and have come away with a few ideas :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.