Beewriter

By Beewriter

Incident

It was high drama today outside school. I nipped out at lunchtime to collect a parcel and on the way back the police tried to turn me off Worsley Road, "I only work there at the school," I said through the window. I pointed at the school two hundred yards down the road. But no he said there was a major incident and I had to turn up Greenleach Lane. I could see Anne's house just beyond him, "Can I just go to that house and park on the driveway then?" I pleaded. "Okay, as long as you don't drive any further."

I knocked on Anne's door and she said it was no problem to park and she was surprised as she'd heard nothing. Apparently the noise of the accident was so loud staff thought a bomb had gone off. As we looked down the road it was filled with flashing blue lights and then the air ambulance came down in the field right beside school. Some might think I'm ghoulish but I reached in my bag for my camera and headed down the road.

There were ambulances, fire engines, motorbikes and police cars filling the road. Two cars had had a collision, one was facing the wrong way the other was on it's roof. The man in the upturned car was cut out but was able to walk away from it. Firemen used hydraulic cutters to remove the roof of the other car to free the old couple in it. The air ambulance then took off from the field beside school to the one opposite....it was lucky the bullocks have gone as they would have had the shock of their lives.

I took a few photos of the scene and the helicopter but then had to go back in to class. The accident happened just after 12.45 but the road was closed until about 3.30pm. I've heard since that the couple were doing well so hopefully everyone will make a full recovery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.