bananablip

By bananablip

C'est loin?

A combination of French class, hearing Rick Stein talk about 'Secret France' and the book I'm currently reading: 'One More Croissant for the Road' is making my need to visit France, and specifically French restaurants, quite unbearable. I wonder if the phrase "c'est loin?" can refer to time as well as distance? 

We went to a little remembrance event at college today, which a handful of students attended. After it was finished I walked around the corner of the college to see a mass of students just hanging around. I found it quite sad that they didn't feel the need to walk 100 metres and spare 10 minutes of their time to pay tribute to those people who fought for the country and died so that we might enjoy privileges such as the freedom to be educated. I don't mean to sound like a grumbling old person, but it just saddened me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.