Life In Wales

By KarenC

Hello Sailor

I woke up about 6am as I seem to be doing quite often at the moment, and at 7am I decided to get up and go down to the hotel pool.  Obviously I can't swim at the moment but my physio said it would be good to do my exercises in the water and also to walk up and down the pool.  There were only a couple of other people in the pool so it wasn't a problem to do my exercises, and I then got a float and went on my back with my arms wrapped round the float and swam a few lengths just using my legs.  I spent about 20 minutes in the jacuzzi which I had to myself, and then I went in the steam room and the sauna before heading back up to the room.

We checked out at about 10am and drove back to Gunwharf Quays as I wanted to nip back to M&S, and then we went to Pret à Manger for breakfast.  We left the car at Gunwharf and walked round to the historic dockyard - we didn't go on any of the ships, but there's an antique shop in there that Alan wanted to look at as they had old firearms.  He wasn't buying anything, just wanted to have a look, however I found some old postcards of Saltdean, Brighton Palace Pier and West Pier which we ended up buying.  We had a wander round the rest of the dockyard, saw the Prince of Wales and Queen Elizabeth aircraft carriers, HMS Warrior which was the biggest warship in Queen Victoria's Navy and HMS Victory.  We also spotted this amazing statue near HMS Victory and I've added an extra of it with HMS Victory in the background. 

This afternoon we drove to West Wittering Beach and had a picnic in the car as it was far too windy and cold to sit on the beach, but we did have a walk.  It certainly blew the cobwebs off!  

On our way back we stopped off at a nearby garden centre that we've been to before.  Aside from plants, they sell lots of lovely furnishings and gifts, and have a lovely cafe so we went in as Alan wanted a coffee and I had a glass of wine.   While we were sat there, we saw the tiniest little mouse like thing run from under a table, past where we were sat and then under a chair and back out the other side.  Alan got up and tried to catch it but it was too quick.  We weren't sure what it was but it definitely wasn't a mouse, it was too small and had a silky grey coat.  One of the girls that works there said it's vole that they've called it Steve and have been trying to catch all day.  Anyway, they called Pest Control who were coming out, but I hope little Steve found his way back out and lives to see another day - he was very cute!

We had  a great journey home and were back by 6pm, we unpacked, put a pizza in the oven and we’ve spent the rest of the night in front of the TV.  

Happy weekend to you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.