Gressingham Bridge / Poliça

Abi's request to be picked up at nine came through at twenty to, which was fine inasmuch as I'd been up for a while, having taken Dan to the station for the 07:08 down to Manchester, but not so useful bearing in mind she was twenty-five minutes away! So I gave myself time to make a coffee for the car and said I'd be there to pick her up at quarter past.

On the way back, Abi safely collected from Brookhouse, I took a spur of the moment decision as we passed through Hornby to go home via Gressingham, which means passing across a wonderful old bridge. Given that this is such a minor route, the magnificent stone crossing seems bizarrely inappropriate but I guess at some point it must have been an important crossing to warrant such a structure. 

We stopped halfway across so I could take a photo while Abi kept a concerned eye out for cars coming the other way.

I dropped her at her mum's before going out for a ten mile run and then heading down to Chorley for a leisurely afternoon with the Minx before we went into Manchester to have dinner at Gorilla, which was also where Poliça were playing this evening.

To be honest, I don't think Poliça work that well live. The band's line up - singer, bassist, two drummers - doesn't lend itself to performance, especially as all the keyboards are sequenced up. In fact, even some of the drums seemed to be sequenced despite the two drummers on stage. 

It was all pleasant enough, if a little homogenous. The best tracks were the last one of the main set and one of the encores but, to be honest, and much as I like them on record, I don't think I'd go to see them play live again. (But that said, everyone else seemed to be enjoying it.)

P.S. As you can see from my extra, I have once again managed to lose a band member behind a pillar!

****
-11.0 kgs
Reading: 'The Sound Of Tomorrow' by Mark Brend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.