Lots Of Water

I went out to see if I could get a decent picture of the bridge just below the house we are staying in.
I couldn't really without heavy duty footwear - and I wasn't staying out too long as the wind was bitter.
On the way back up the hill I snapped where we are staying.

For the first time ever Bunny attempted stairs. She made it all the way up unaided.
Now the trouble really starts.

After breakfast Butterfly got all wrapped up and went out with No1 son to check the ice-house and see what was living in there .......... a lot of water. So no foxes, badgers or unicorns.

After lunch we headed over to Rheged at Penrith so that the kids could play in their kids area and No1 son and I could go down to the boathouse at the head if Ulswater.
The water was a tad high.
There were also a load of complete prats driving thought the flooding at speed and damn near drowning anyone who was on foot (and there were a fair number). Some were doing it quite delierately and were getting a torrent of abuse thrown back. I was wearing waterproof trousers - No1 son wasn't. He got soaked from the waist down from one barstard despite being on top of a small wall set back from the edge of the road.
We were in need of a hot drink by the time we rejoined the girls.

On the way back to the house I stopped at Martside Summit (1903 ft) to get a shot of the weather traversing the countryside and could hardly stand in the wind - an absolutely Baltic wind! That weather was hail and snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.