Analogue

I am glad about the period for which I have been alive (long may it continue!). When I was young, I loved science fiction and *everything* exciting seemed to lie in the future. There were tastes of it, for sure, not least with the moon landings, but then I was also longing for the world promised by 'Star Trek'.

It was all resolutely analogue in the seventies and most of the innovations on 'Tomorrow's World' seemed to be as much wire and cabling as anything else. Do you remember the first video recorders? Big and clunky, and also a bit crap. A million miles from Netflix!

Matters seemed to accelerate as we heard more about miniaturisation and, in my world, it was most obvious with the shift from analogue synths and drum machines to digital in the 80s. I can remember my friend John loading up the digital drum programme on his ZX Spectrum!

But I came to miss the knobs and dials, and much as I love the current state of technology, I am have developed a passion for analogue synths. And, today, at the Abbe Museum in Eindhoven, I also had a little moment for this old projector, whirring away. It's nice, sometimes, to see how things work.

The museum was the focus of our day in Eindhoven but we also enjoyed breakfast at Bagel and Bean, and had a good old wander around. Hannah and Abi have proven to be excellent travelling companions. 

****
No scales
Reading: 'The Sound Of Tomorrow' by Mark Brend 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.