Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

New regime?

JR went to the gym, of course. She was talking to her favourite instructor, who is really so knowledgeable about bodies and muscles and exercise. She's made me realise that I really need to re-join the gym, and make use of their expertise. I should even get back swimming. Maybe. I'm really not getting very far with my coffee table exercises and my rather relaxed bike riding...

Libby and a couple of friends came to take Archie out today. It was sunny, but very damp underfoot on the Meadows. 

When he came back, we set off for a walk round to the cafe, just to get our step count up. (7,038) We put Archie's harness on instead of just his collar, so that when he starts his nonsense about not wanting to go somewhere, it doesn’t work. But sure enough, as he got nearer the cafe, he got more and more reluctant.

We had a coffee but didn’t stay long. We didn’t want to take up a table at lunchtime and not have a meal. The poor owner has taken Archie's reluctance personally, so we had to assure him it was every cafe. As I put my scarf on, the waitress came rushing over with the bill and the contactless thingie. But Archie still gave a triumphant bark as we hurried out. Mind you, Tina Turner was blasting out 'River deep, mountain high' - so I was in a hurry too - it's near the top of my most hated list!

We had (fairly) brisk walk home, Archie had run in the Links, then I hurried on home with Archie while JR returned to have a browse in the shops. I got home in time for the rugby.

Yay! 'Last Tango in Halifax' is in tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.