These are the days...

By ashcroftkiddos

Hip Hip Hooray! I see a root!

The highlight of my day was the discovery of a root on my avocado seed! I've been trying for over a year to get an avocado plant started. My first attempts ended in rotten seeds. This attempt almost ended a week ago when the seed got dropped and broke in half. However, I was not willing to give up on the little thing and today, I notice a root. I'm totally thrilled! I think I need at least two plants to have any hope of an actual avocado a few years from now but the chance for a single plant just makes me smile!

We were back at it today. Kiah joined us and we had a fun filled day playing at home. Last night, I realized we were out of diapers and I had decided when I bought the last pack that that would be my last pack of diapers. So, alas, it's sleeping in undies for Mia. It will probably prove to be an interesting few weeks but we started off last night with a dry bed. We got her up two times before 12:30am to pee and then she slept from 12:30 to 7am with dry undies. I was really impressed. It seems her weekend with dad and undies was a big turning point for her. let's just hope it sticks!

We built houses, did ABC puzzles, played duck duck goose, watched SuperWhy, the list goes on. This afternoon, we ventured to the hardware store for a piece of plywood to put under Tyler's bunk bed mattress. I had measured the space earlier and went in, so proud that I was taking care of this task! Hauled the wood home, hauled it inside, put it on the bed and, ARGH.... it was too big. In fact, I had originally measured a little over 44 inches and it was only 40 inches. quite a discrepancy. oops. So, I hauled the wood back outside, back into the car and back to the hardware store to have them cut it down to size.

We got it done in time to get the bed put back together and get to Dad's basketball game just in the nick of time!

It's a 24 night! HEEEE HAW.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.