WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Faffing About

Occupying myself indoors has never been a problem for me.
If I haven't got anything that actually needs doing I'll make myself some work. I can honestly say I have never, ever been bored in my whole life, in fact I can remember asking my mum when I was little what the word 'bored' meant in that context.
Today I had nothing much to do apart from a tidy round and a quick walk to the post office.
I've been wanting to get my sewing machine out but didn't know what to sew. After looking around and having a wander through my fabric cupboard I came up with 2 ideas.
1. To make a cushion for Bella May out of a fluffy fleece top that had melted when I leant against the gas cooker! :-0
She has her head on it just now and I can tell she likes it.
2. I made some cosmetic pads from some pink brushed cotton that was an off cut from a sheet. I use these pads sometimes for rose water or the lovely Liz Earle toner my daughter bought me (I do like Liz Earle skin care because it's not tested on animals, is all natural ingredients and vegan).
I just drew round the double fabric and straight stitched around. I need to make a little net bag to put the used ones in and when it's full they can go in the washing machine. I won't need to buy them anymore! (no plastic packaging ;-)

I can't help going on about Covid 19.
As more and more events get cancelled and people don't want to go out among crowds - even small ones - maybe they will have to think about entertaining themselves at home. These days everyone is used to being entertained, having to pay to go to festivals, concerts, theatres and cinemas or soft play with the kids. Although the virus is a horrible state of affairs and quite scary for many of us, it might just make us sit down and think about our lives and appreciate what we have in our own small environment and occupy ourselves in different ways.
One of the worries though is for those who are elderly or infirm
- or both - and cannot get to places like their usual day centres and clubs.
A notice went round our village Facebook page saying that if anyone needed help or shopping or their dog walking, just to let people know on the page and there would always be someone to lend a hand. Community Spirit is what is needed right now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.