WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Vegan Bakewell Tart :-b

I made this today and it really is delicious!
Bakewell Tart has always been my favourite cake but I haven't been able to have it since going vegan.
I had a yearning for some today so I found a recipe on google.
I had to use self raising flour for the pastry as I couldn't find flour of any description in the supermarkets the other day. I tried our village shop this morning but they had sold out too!
Anyway, it turned out perfectly! Here's the recipe: https://bakedbyclo.com/vegan-bakewell-tart/
We were meant to be cutting down on such things but in these uncertain times you just have to eat cake!
I also made another big jar of granola!

A nice thing happened this morning. I'm looking for a flowering blackcurrant plant or even a cutting so I put it on our local FB community page. A lady across the road sent me a message to say she didn't have one but would I like a fruiting blackcurrant bush which she had in a pot. I said Yes! She brought it over straightaway :-D 
I might have to send for the other type from a garden website. Flowering Blackcurrant has the most beautiful perfume in the spring.

Bella may was in the bad books earlier.
She was outside in the garden and when she barked I opened the door and she shot in straight through the living room on the cream carpet - black paw marks everywhere! I'm glad we got the synthetic washable carpet instead of the wool (which, being vegan we wouldn't have bought anyway). I don't know what she had been doing but her back legs were black up to her knees. That's the second time she's been filthy today - she and Frank both were after their long muddy trek to Long Preston and back.

Frank found some binoculars on FB Marketplace and I said I'd get them for his birthday. I paid for them and the girl is sending them tomorrow. One less thing to think about!

All in all a very nice day - apart from the news! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.