WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Covid19 Day Plan

I made this the other day, because I was so stressed out by this bloomin' virus. I couldn't settle to do anything and kept forgetting what I was planning to do.
It has really helped me stay focussed the last few days and I have managed to get a few things done.

Frank is making a good job of making my raised beds for veggies. The garden is taking shape (future blips ;-)
I ordered some onion sets in case the seed grown ones aren't ready early enough.
Our next door but one neighbours also grow their own and we've said that If all our veggies grow well, we'll be happy to share with neighbours who may need some as times get harder.
I also ordered some perennial flowering plants for the right hand side of the garden which is shady all day because of the fence - which is now lower than the old one was. I ordered Astilbe, Lily of the Valley, Cranesbill (wild geranium) and Dicentra Alba (Love Lies a Bleeding) they are all happy in the shade.

Being outside in the sunshine pottering about (Frank was doing more than just pottering!) you can actually forget for a short while what's going on in the rest of the world.
However, not everyone has the good fortune to have a garden.
The other morning on BBC news the tall lady presenter said, 'If you can't get out for walks just go out in your gardens!'
I shouted at the telly -'Not everyone has a garden!'
I really feel for those with kids in high rise flats, it must be so stressful if the kids can't even go to the play parks.
We haven't seen any kids out on the streets round here today so I think they've got the message. Normally round here the kids are outside playing morning till night at weekends and after school on weekdays like in the old days.

Anyway, I'm going to consult my list - hmmm maybe it's time for a bit of crochet ;-)

UPDATE: There has just been a government announcement.
Boris Johnstone has finally told everybody they must stay at home. We are allowed out once a day only for a walk, run or bike ride and only alone or with family members. We must not meet up with anyone. All non essential shops are now closed - only food shops and pharmacies are to be open.
Parks and playgrounds and libraries are shut.
I have been expecting this and I am glad of it but all the same it feels very strange and I feel quite emotional at the extent of it.

Stay safe everyone :-/❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.