Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Coffee and pastry?

Becky took Archie out for some frisbee fun this morning. She always reports that he’s been very good, and brings it back lots of times.

Cloudier and cooler today, so an afternoon walk was contemplated. I suggested we go down to the Gardens again, because 
a) we could get a Prêt coffee (and pastries) and 
b) I could get a bus home if needed. 

So, having arrived last week to find the shop had just closed, I first checked the website. Many are not open on Sundays, but the one we were heading to was open till 3pm.

Many folk were walking down town carrying cardboard placards, heading for the non-socially distanced BLM protest. We passed this rather shocking sign (Extra). We also saw our friend the remote grass cutter on the grassy slopes on The Mound. Archie spotted it from across the road, and barked like mad.

We arrived, puggled (just me) at Prêt, gasping for that delicious soya flat white (and pastry). But it was not to be! It was CLOSED!!! I was NOT well pleased. I don’t blame them, staying shut on Sundays - there’s hardly anybody in town - but just keep the opening times on the website up to date!

However, we walked on through the gardens, passing the floral clock, which isn’t quite finished yet. We also passed these two small topical figurines - nobody was nearby them. I got the bus back while the others walked. (8,047 steps)

On the way, I listened to more of my audiobook. There are many very graphic surgery descriptions (of course - he’s a vascular surgeon), and many tales of his own near death experiences in war zones. What a brave, selfless man David Nott is.

NO Covid deaths (reported) in Scotland today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.