WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Bella and Shaun

At the top of Haw Lane - a continuation of our street - an elderly lady called Jean keeps some chickens, a retired racehorse and Shaun the sheep - oh and Sooty the cat.
Shaun loves having his head scratched and stroked and Bella and him are great pals. It's the only time she's allowed to get up close and personal to a sheep!
We went for a longer walk this morning and my knee was OK.
However we didn't go as far as we had planned as the field we wanted to cross had cows, calves and a big black bull behind the gate. I turned on my heel and said No! I'm not going!
A week or so ago a man nearby was killed by a cow who was protecting her calf. He was walking in the field with his wife and 2 dogs. :-(

When we got back there was a box on our doorstep and it was ukulele sized! Yes, it has arrived and is beautiful; it sounds clear and bright whilst having depth in the tone.

Before I can play it I must finish my BLM patch and get it sent off to Dumfries. It's a cold, rainy day so I'm sitting by the stove hand sewing.

I saw 2 goldfinches on Bob's lawn earlier. I haven't seen any here before. We have lots of sparrows in our garden, a few blackbirds and some collared doves. We love watching them.

Nothing else to report!

:-D X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.